2015 Resolutions Progress Report: A Pinteresting way to get fit.

Regular readers would know that I set myself some pretty intensive resolutions this year, and I put some big lifestyle changes in place in order to make achieving them a reality. 

Considering I run a business and home, plus it’s finally the last year of my Undergraduate Degree (I’ve studied part-time over the last five years), I probably picked the wrong year to give my lifestyle a massive overhaul. Regardless, I’ve tried my best to make positive changes but there’s definitely been ups and downs.

One of my biggest goals for 2015 was to improve my health and fitness. In the craziness of getting married, moving out of home and going back to uni over the past couple of years, I’d managed to put my body last and gained some weight. I started the year determined to feel good about my body again.

Image: Google

Image: Google

I’ve toned-up a little, but I’ve given-up on weighing and measuring myself for the time-being. There’s so much more to losing weight then simply eating well and exercising, so I can’t expect miracles from my mostly-clean diet and 2 – 5 workouts a week.

Stress, hormones and sleep play a huge factor in losing weight. I’m pretty much constantly stressed and I’m not a great sleeper, so I know these factors are holding me back. I’m hoping that once I finish uni and begin a steadier work schedule that my stress levels will decrease and weight-loss will happen a little easier.

I’ve adjusted my goals slightly, instead of obsessing about the kilos and centimetres, I just want to feel better about myself and look better in my clothes. Around June, I started struggling to find time to get my uni and house work done, work and go to the gym so I decided to workout from home.

Image via @toneitup on Instagram (one of my favourite at-home-workout accounts)

Image via @toneitup (regram from @alix_tup) on Instagram (one of my favourite at-home-workout accounts)

Pinterest has been an amazing tool in helping me plan my at-home workout schedule. By having access to pre-designed workouts, I feel like I have a personal trainer!

Making the decision to workout from home means there’s no excuses and I’m exercising a lot more! If you want to get an idea of some of the great workout plans available for free on Pinterest, check out the pins on my Fitness board. 

If you’re going to use Pinterest to help plan your own workouts, make sure you look after yourself by choosing workouts that match your fitness level and be sure to always stretch before and after every workout.  Listen to your body, it’s OK to have a day-off if you’re sore and exhausted.

If you’re completely new to gym/PT/bootcamp style exercise (which most of the pins on my Fitness board are), it might be a good idea to chat to your doctor and make sure it’s right for you.

How are your New Year’s Resolutions going? Still on track or have you kicked them to the curb? Share your stories below, no judgement here! 🙂 


Stay in touch!

– Like on Facebook: here

– Follow on twitter: @ms_clairey_d

– Follow on Instagram: @claire.defreitas

– Follow on Pinterest: @msthisnthatblog

Leave a Reply

