How well do you know your skin? 

I’ve read a lot of articles that say, as our skin is affected by our hormones (thanks pals), that our skin changes all the time.  For me, as soon as I finished puberty my skin became insanely dry and slightly sensitive and has stayed that way.

Every facial I’ve ever had (which admittedly hasn’t been a lot because they are so expensive and time consuming), I’ve been told that I have very dry skin. I think I’ve been using ‘anti-aging’ products since I was 20 just to hydrate my skin.

As a post-birthday treat to myself, I booked myself in for a facial at my local Endota Spa.  I’ve decided that now that I’m 27, I want to try to be one of those people who get facials monthly.  I’m a big believer that prevention is better than a cure and I want my skin to look fresh for as long as possible.

So I went along on Monday for a Dermalogica Face Treatment expecting the same-old super hydrating session with cream cleansers, lots of serums and a hydrating mask.  I got the biggest shock when, during my face mapping, the therapist explained that I have a very oily t-zone and I’m actually only dry on my cheeks. Say what?!!

The therapist explained that I might have over-hydrated my skin with all the gentle, creamy products I’ve been using. So I guess it really is possible to have too much of a good thing!  In a way it makes sense, since I have visible pores on my nose and I’m prone to blackheads.  Also, if I don’t powder my foundation it disappears, but I always just assumed it was my thirsty skin drinking it.  Perhaps it was excess oil making my foundation move.  Mind blown!

The therapist recommended a large variety of Dermalogica products and suggested that I mix it up each day depending on how my skin is feeling. Oh the joys of combination skin!  Goodbye to my previously straightforward skincare regime!

After my super-relaxing 60 minute facial, I decided to buy the Dermalogica Oily Skin Kit which contains miniature products to treat my oily t-zone.  Still can’t believe I need products for oily skin!  I also bought the Dermalogica Power Recovery Masque to treat my dry cheeks.  As a free gift with purchase, I also received a three-piece Dermalogica Age Smart Skin Renewal Kit.

My therapist recommended booking in for a maintenance treatment in two weeks.  After that, I’m hoping to have facials monthly and even maybe try hydro-microdermabrasion.

I look forward to including all these products in my skincare routine and seeing how they help my newly-discovered combination skin.  I’ll keep you posted on how I go.

When was the last time you had a facial?  Did you discover anything surprising about your skin?

My Dermalogica haul.

Leave a Reply

