Book Chat: April 2015

IMG_8744

Welcome back to Book Chat where I give short and sweet reviews for the books and audiobooks that I’ve enjoyed in the last month.  April was mostly spent trapped inside my house doing homework (my final year of uni is proving to be a real drainer) so I didn’t get much time to read/listen to books this month, but the two books I did get through were great.

Going Off Script: How I Survived a Crazy Childhood, Cancer and Cloney’s 32 On-screen Rejections (Unabridged Audiobook) by Giuliana Rancic

  • Genre: Autobiography
  • How I found out about it: Giuliana Rancic’s Instagram account.
  • Where I bought it: iTunes for AUS$35.99
  • I would recommend it to: Fans of Giuliana Rancic and lovers of an inspirational autobiography.
  • Quick review:

E! News anchorwoman Giuliana Rancic’s life has been an absolute rollercoaster over the past five years.  Although her career and marriage have gone from strength to strength, Rancic has faced fertility issues and a battle with Breast Cancer.  I couldn’t have been happier for her when, after all those tough times, Rancic and her husband (Bill Rancic) announced their son Edward Duke Rancic was born via a surrogate in 2012.

When I heard that Giuliana’s autobiography was being published, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it.  I wanted to know the secret to her success and how she soldiered through all the personal challenges she’d faced.  

Going Off Script: How I Survived a Crazy Childhood, Cancer and Cloney’s 32 On-screen Rejections did not disappoint.  Rancic writes like she speaks, with wit and humour, and if you buy the audiobook you can hear her narrate it as well.  Although I was already a long-time fan of Rancic, I learnt so much more about her by listening to this book and I now admire her even more.  If you love reading a strong woman’s inspirational memoir, this is a must-read.

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

Nice Girls Still Don’t Get The Corner Office: Unconscious Mistakes Women Make That Sabotage Their Careers (Unabridged Audiobook) by Dr. Lois P. Frankel 

  • Genre: Self-help
  • How I found out about it: It was mentioned in a Mamma Mia podcast.
  • Where I bought it:  iTunes for AUS$21.99
  • I would recommend it to: EVERY woman in the workforce.  Full stop.
  • Quick review:

I was attracted to this book instantly because I know I am a ‘nice girl.’  I avoid confrontation like the plague and absolutely hate disappointing people.  I am sick and tired of stuttering through an awkward conversation with a client, co-worker or acquaintance to only scold myself later with thoughts like ‘argh! if I’d only just said THAT!’

In the revised edition of this bestselling book, executive coach Dr. Lois P. Frankel explains how to get and keep the job you wanting by behaving like a mature, assertive woman rather than a ‘nice girl’ (yes, there is a big difference between the two and this is explained in the book.)  Most of Frankel’s advice is aimed at women who work in a corporate environment, but I’m self-employed and still got a lot out of it.  I think that aspects of Frankel’s advice are also applicable to everyday life.  I actually wish I could go back in time and hand this book to my eighteen year old self, who was working in a corporate environment, and say “here, read this and and don’t let anyone belittle you!”

Some parts of the book weren’t easy to listen to, like the section about the strict rules on how a woman should dress to be taken seriously at work, but I could always see where Frankel was coming from.  Highlights for me were the sections about communicating with men effectively in the workplace and creating your own brand.  If I ever have a daughter, I will definitely be giving a copy of this book to her.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.


Continue the Book Chat on Social Media!

6 thoughts on “Book Chat: April 2015

  1. Babe! We need to start ourselves an audiobook club!! Lol. I have wondering about that Nice Girls book for months. #GIRLBOSS is a real winner for anyone who has their own business if you have not yet read it. Currently, I’m reading You Are A Badass by Jen Sincero – she swears so I like her.

    I also enjoy biographies but haven’t much been a fan of Giuliana, so I’m not sure if I’d read that. But I appreciate your reviews, they really make sense to me 🙂

  2. Babe! We need to start an audiobook club! We totes have the same taste in books – I’ve been wondering about that Nice Girls book for yonks (I’d def recommend #GIRLBOSS if you haven’t read it, and I’m currently reading You Are A Badass by Jen Sincero – she swears, so she’s my kinda woman! Lol)

    I like biographies too. I don’t know much about Giuliana, and was never really that interested in her book, but perhaps I’ll give it a crack.

    I like the way you write your reviews, they make sense to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

