Sally Hansen Miracle Gel New Shades* Review

Shape

The latest Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Shades (from left to right) Spice Age, Mad Woman, Game of Chromes, Hunger Flames and Creme de la Creme. Image: Coty Inc.

If you’re a lover of the DIY manicure, I’m sure you’re aware that Sally Hansen Miracle Gel took the beauty world by storm last year.

Promising the long-lasting finish of shellac without the need for UV lamp or salon visit, the Miracle Gel system has the potential to save you time and money.  There are over 20 shades, plus the Miracle Gel Top Coat, now available.

The latest additions to the stunning variety of Miracle Gel shades available in Australia are: Crème de la Crème, Game of Chromes, Spice Age, Mad Woman and Hunger Flames.  These rich metallic shades are perfect for making an a statement in the Australian winter.

Just in case you haven’t heard of Miracle Gel before, here’s how it works according to the press release:

“HOW TO USE:

Start with clean dry nails – no base coat needed.

Step 1: Shake gently and apply 2-3 coats of Miracle Gel colour depending on your desired coverage.

Step 2: Apply Miracle Gel Top Coat & let the curing activate by itself in natural light – no LED lamp needed!”

I was sent Spice Age and Hunger Flames to trial and review.  I already owned the Miracle Gel Top Coat.

Spice Age

Me wearing Sally Hansen Miracle Gel in Spice Age.

Spice Age is a beautiful metallic grey-plum colour that changes in the light.  In some lights, it looks very purple.  In other lights, it looks like the perfect dupe for OPI’s My Private Jet (a sparkly charcoal shade.)  A pinkish-gold glitter gives this polish a beautiful sheen. I found I needed two coats of the colour nail polish to really get the coverage I wanted.

Me wearing Sally Hansen Miracle Gel in Hunger Flames.

Me wearing Sally Hansen Miracle Gel in Hunger Flames.

Hunger Flames is a super-shiny fuchsia shade that could brighten up even the dreariest Melbourne morning.  It’s super pigmented and I only needed one coat of the colour polish to create the look pictured above – woo hoo! This nail polish definitely lived-up to the promise of lasting for days and days.

Just like the salon versions of shellac that require UV, I think that Sally Hansen Miracle Gel is quite sensitive to water. If you want to get maximum wear out of your DIY Miracle Gel mani, make sure you wear gloves during housework or gardening.

I love the pampering experience of a salon manicure and I used to be a total shellac addict.  Unfortunately, salon shellac weakened my nails over time and I’m a bit paranoid about the long-term effects of UV lamps.  I’m now saving shellac manicures for special occasions and I think I’ll be giving myself the DIY experience with Miracle Gel for everyday glam for now on.

Only one question remains…which shade should I buy next?

Sally Hansen Miracle Gel nail polishes are $16.95 each and are available in Australia at Priceline, Priceline Pharmacies, Target, Terry White Chemists, Chemist Warehouse and independent pharmacies. Call 1800 812 663  or visit http://www.sallyhansen.com to find your nearest stockist.  

*Sally Hansen Miracle Gel nail polishes in Spice Age and Hunger Flames were provided for my consideration. This has not influenced my views in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.  Please refer to my PR and Disclosure Statement for more information.

Leave a Reply

