My 2015 Resolutions

Image from Google

Image from Google

If you read my last post you’d know that I’m feeling determined to make 2015 a year of big, positive changes.  I know I said that my next post would include the details of the strategies I’m putting in place to achieve my resolutions but I thought I better start by telling you what they actually are.  So, here it is, my list of New Year’s Resolutions:

  • To eat less junk food and exercise more.  Basically what I’m working towards is a lifestyle change where an active, well-nourished life is the norm.  I know that as a busy gal I’m going to need to be super organised and really work to put myself first.  By the end of 2015 I want to be one of those people who actually love to exercise and eat right.  A post about my strategies for getting healthy and fit is coming soon.
  • To maintain a better work/life balance. I worked myself way too hard in 2014 and spent a lot of it in a sleep-deprived, highly caffeinated state, which is no way to live; especially when I’m still in my 20s and ‘I should’ be having the time of my life.  I have decided to slow down a little in 2015 and cut back at work.  I’m lucky that I was able to request no new students at one of the schools I teach at, and a few students have quit anyway as kids’ interests are always changing.  Yes, this does mean less money, but I need more time to focus on study and my sanity.  I am also lucky that my husband supports this decision so I don’t feel pressured to keep working to the max.  Yes, making these kind of decisions is a luxury of the self-employed, but if you’re reading this and you feel like you need to cut back or your schedule isn’t serving you anymore, there’s no harm in researching your options.  Could you switch to part time or work a day from home?  Would a different schedule suit you better such as working weekends but have two days off during the week?  Do you need a career change?  Life is too short to be unhappy and/or exhausted at work and I believe there has to be a way for all people to make ends meet while still feeling happy and healthy every day.  Maybe I sound like a crazy optimist, but maybe that’s who I am.
  • To make more time for ‘me’: meditation, Reiki, adequate sleep and pampering. This one ties into the previous point a lot but basically I’m going to start asking myself questions like: do I really need to put on that load of washing right now or could I sneak in a ten minute meditation and do it later?  Can I leave that reading for tomorrow and get to bed before midnight instead?  Do I have time for a sneaky pedicure before work this afternoon?  If the answer is yes, I’m going to put myself first and take some time out.  In my opinion, rest, meditation and pampering are miracle workers.  They always leave me feeling refreshed, energised and good about myself.  Usually after taking some time out I work more productively than I would have not taking the break.  Try it and see how you feel!
  • To reduce wardrobe (i.e. I have NOTHING to wear!) stress.  Thanks to gaining weight in 2014 (sigh) I used to spend far too much time trying on outfit options in the morning and usually settling on something safe and boring.  This routine was a waste of time and often left me rushing out the door.  I’ve started making a change by reorganising my wardrobe, donating a heap of old clothes and buying some new work outfits.  I’m also in the process of developing an outfit guide to hang in my wardrobe and, hopefully, make getting ready a breeze.  Stay tuned with a future post with more details.
  • To graduate university.  Hopefully this will be achievable as I only have six units to go and have enrolled in them.  I am hoping that leading a more balanced life will result in even better grades and less study stress.
  • To continue to run a flourishing business and find new ways to make it better.  This applies to both my singing school and my blog.  I plan to keep doing what I’m doing but with more focus and organisation, which for me always lends to more success and better results.

So what are your resolutions?

Till next time,

Claire

Ms This n That Blog xx

6 thoughts on “My 2015 Resolutions

  1. Pingback: How I’m making my resolutions a reality Part 1: Eating less and exercising more | Ms This N That Blog

  2. Pingback: How I’m making my resolutions a reality Part 2: Reducing wardrobe stress | Ms This N That Blog

  3. Pingback: RECIPE: Cornbread Pizza | Ms This N That Blog

  4. Pingback: 2015 Resolutions Progress Report | Ms This N That Blog

  5. Pingback: 2015 Resolutions Progress Report: A Pinteresting way to get fit. | Ms This N That Blog

  6. Pingback: A reflecti0n 0n 2015 | Ms This N That Blog

Leave a Reply

