Casual Curl* Review

Deep down, I think I secretly want to be a hair dresser.  I LOVE playing with hair, whether it be a friend’s or my own, and trying out new hair styles.  I also absolutely love trying out the clever-styling tools that make the process easier.  The one thing that I refuse to do at home is a proper blow wave.  Why, you ask?  Well, I have an irrational fear of round brushes because I have only tried to use one at home twice in my life and both times I managed to get it stuck in my hair!  It’s such a shame that I am too scared to use a round brush at home, considering how popular the flicked-out/loose curl look is nowadays.  Not to mention that regular salon blow waves are expensive!

I was delighted to try out the new Casual Curl roller, but was a little scared too because it resembles a round brush.  So I recruited my lovely blogger friend Melissa from ‘Melissa Bubbles Beauty, Fashion & Life!’ to teach me how to use the Casual Curl and put my mind at ease!

What is Casual Curl?

“Casual Curl is an innovative styling roller that allows you to style your hair into ‘the Kate look’. Relaxed, smooth, casual curls are created in just minutes – and you don’t have to be a professional to master the technique.

Endorsed by multi-award winning hair stylist and Australian hairdresser of the year Brad Ngata, Casual Curl is set to become the next essential tool for every salon and home styling kit.” – From the Casual Curl website 

How to use it? 

Luckily, using the Casual Curl is much easier then battling a blowdryer and round brush!  Here are the instructions according to the Casual Curl website:

1.  Prepare your hair with a setting lotion or spray and blow dry hair.

2.  Take a section of hair as wide as the Casual Curl roller and roll the hair around the roller. Apply a setting spray for more hold.

3.  Attach the CasualCurl roller to your blow dryer.

4.  Turn on the blow dryer, heat the Casual Curl for 30 seconds. Turn the dryer off and let the roller cool.

5.  When cool, unwind the hair to release a perfect, casual curl. Spray to hold in place.

6.  Repeat process for desired Casual Curl style.

IMG_6820

IMG_6823

 

My Results (Keep reading after the pics) 

IMG_6846-2

 

IMG_6847

IMG_6849

My Thoughts

I think the Casual Curl is a very innovative hair styling tool and definitely makes it possible to achieve the loosely curled, salon fresh look at home.  For long, thick hair like mine, I think it is definitely necessary to use multiple rollers because there is a lot of waiting time involved while the roller curls down, and with multiple rollers I could use the cooling time to start the next section.  Much more user-friendly than a round brush, I would definitely (calmly) use the Casual Curler again without Melissa’s supervision!  I hope they bring out wider versions of the Casual Curl soon because it was too narrow to attach to my GHD Air hairdryer and I had to use Melissa’s narrower VS hairdryer instead.  I would recommend wearing a heatproof glove (like the velvet ones that come with some curling wands) if you are sensitive to heat because the Casual Curl heats up fast.

For more information, or to purchase a Casual Curl roller for yourself, check out www.casualcurl.com.au.  Casual Curl are currently offering a great special where you save 20% when you buy two rollers.

Have you used the Casual Curl?  I’d love to know what you thought of it.

*I was provided with one Casual Curl roller for my consideration and review in accordance with my PR & Disclosure Policy.  All opinions expressed are my own.

Till next time,

Claire xx

Ms This n That Blog

F: http://www.facebook.com/msthisnthatblog

I: http://instagram.com/claire.defreitas

T: http://twitter.com/ms_clairey_d

Leave a Reply

