My Philosophy Trial and Review Crew Experience

Hi everyone,

As regular readers of my blog would know, I am a big fan of skincare brand ‘Philosophy,’ especially the Hope in a Jar night cream which has been a holy grail product for me!   So, when Philosophy announced they were looking for 12 Australian fans to join their ‘Trial and Review Crew,’ I naturally jumped at the chance!  I was very lucky to be selected to join the crew and had a blast regularly receiving Philosophy goodies in the mail to review!  Just thought I’d do a quick post to share my reviews on the products I tried!

The Microdelivery Peel

photo 1

My Microdelivery Vitamin C Peel Kit was waiting at my door step when I got home from work one Monday evening, which was a wonderful ending to another crazy Monday!  Nothing like receiving a DIY pampering kit to remind yourself that you deserve some ‘me-time!’  I have always been intrigued by the idea of getting a professional peel, but at the same time I was afraid that my temperamental skin would react badly to it. I was very excited to try the Microdelivery Vitamin C Peel Kit because Philosophy is a brand that I trust and by applying it myself I could be in control.

Like all Philosophy products, the package is clean and white with all black text in the standard Philosophy font, except for name of the kit which is in green but in the same classic font.  I have always liked this simple branding because it suggests that Philosophy products are safe, reliable, no-fuss and elegant.  The skincare/cosmetic world can be quite overwhelming with loud, vibrant packaging, so the Philosophy packaging definitely gives-off a refreshingly simple and comforting vibe.  I also liked that the instructions, ingredients and product description were easy to find on the box.  I’ve always been a fan of the beautifully-worded tag lines (or philosophies) that Philosophy gives their products and I think that “radiance is revealing your best self” is a really great one because what busy woman isn’t looking for radiant skin?

The box was easy to open and I pulled out an insert that contained a cardboard with compartments containing the two products involved in the kit.  The Lactic/Salicylic Acid Activating Gel (step two) was located in the top compartment and the Vitamin C/Peptide crystals (step one) were located in the bottom compartment.  Personally, I would have preferred step one to be at the top and step two to be at the bottom so they were in order, but nevertheless the presentation is very good.

The Vitamin C/Peptide crystals had a summery, zesty scent that actually reminded me of Callipo icy-poles (yum!) and the texture was smooth with very fine granules which reminded me of microdermabrasion face scrubs which I’ve used in the past.  A teaspoon amount of product covered my face and neck and it felt cool on my skin.  As my skin is quite dry, I needed to use a teaspoon and a half of the Lactic/Salicylic Acid Activating Gel to cover my face and neck.  Suddenly, my skin was very warm and the products began to froth like toothpaste! It was a bizarre sensation but I knew that my skin was getting a very deep clean.  I left the products on my face for three minutes and then washed them off with warm water, scrubbing gently.  When I dried my face, I noticed that there was some brownish yellow marks on the towel. I’m not sure if the marks were make-up that my cleanser didn’t get off, excess product or dirt from my pores, but either way it was further proof of a really deep clean!

My skin was left slightly pink, incredibly smooth and slightly plump – as if I’d just had a professional facial at a spa!  I followed-up the peel with my usual cleanser, toner, serum and moisturiser and I noticed that the products just glided onto my face because my skin was so smooth! After half an hour, the redness has completely faded and my skin looked clean, smooth and I was sporting a new glow!

The Microdelivery Vitamin C Peel Kit would be great for a weekly DIY maintenance facial or for use the night before a special event to help you feel your best!

Hope In A Jar Day and Night 
photo 2

When I turned twenty five, I decided it was time to get serious about skincare and invest in ‘grown-up’ products like eye cream and night cream. After all, prevention is always better than a cure. I was fortunate to be sent sample size tubes of ‘Hope in a Jar Day and Night’ creams late last year to review for my blog and I instantly fell in love! In particular, I was really impressed with Hope in a Jar Night, I got a week and half of nightly uses out of 7ml! Amazing value for money! My skin instantly felt smoother and in the morning it was like my face had been completely resurfaced! When I washed my face the water seemed to glide off it! My mind was blown and I ordered a full size jar from Mecca Cosmetica straight away.  I alternated using my sample of Hope in a Jar Day with my regular day cream so I didn’t notice any significant results.

Since I was already a big fan of the Hope in a Jar range, I was delighted to receive full size jars of both the day and night creams as the next products to review in the Philosophy Trial and Review Crew.  I instantly recognised the same simple and classic black and white jars with the lovely philosophies printed on them.

I decided to really give Hope in a Jar Day a proper chance to impress me this time, so I used it consistently every day for two weeks.  The product is a little lighter than the night cream, allowing it to sink into my skin a little quicker which has encouraged me to not lazily skip moisturising in the morning.  I have also noticed that when I use Hope in a Jar Day, my skin is so smooth that I can use less primer before my foundation.  After two weeks, I’ve noticed my complexion is brighter and more even with reduced pores on my nose!  Since Hope in a Jar Day is the only new product I’ve been using during this time, I guess it must be thanks to it!

My skin usually gets used to products fairly quickly, but I’ve now been using Hope in a Jar Night for six months and I continue to have fantastic results.

I’ve noticed a few reviews out there that mention that the Hope in a Jar creams have a ‘funny smell’ and cause a few allergic reactions. Firstly, both products have a zesty, citrusy scent that I find quite refreshing, which I understand might not be for everyone.  Personally, I couldn’t care less about the scent considering the amazing results I’m getting from the products. Secondly, my skin is also quite sensitive, dries out easily and is prone to redness and I haven’t had any negative reactions from the Hope in a Jar range what so ever.

Hope in a Jar Day and Night are a spectacular duo to maintain smooth skin and have definitely earned a permanent part in my daily skincare routine.

Purity Cleanser
photo 3

I was delighted to be given the chance to trial the Purity cleanser because finding a cleanser that works for me can be quite tricky.  I have dry skin so many foam and gel cleansers just dry me out further and leave my skin feeling tight, yet cream cleansers sometimes don’t remove all my make-up or are too oily. All the Philosophy skincare I had tried so far had done wonders for my skin so I was very hopeful that the cleanser would be great too.

The packaging of the cleanser is a simple see-through plastic bottle which reveals the cream-coloured cleanser.  The text on the bottle is black and in the standard Philosophy font. As usual, I found the simplicity of the packaging very appealing.  I also liked that you can actually see how much product is left unlike some other cleanser bottles.  The only way that I think the packaging could be improved is if a pump dispenser was added because I can imagine that squeezing the product out might be difficult once the bottle is half empty.

The Purity cleanser has a very light floral fragrance that is…well…very pure!  About a ten cent piece worth of product is enough to cover my face and neck.  I love that a little bit of this product goes a long way because I feel that I go through some cleansers very quickly.  The consistency of the Purity cleanser seems to be just right for my skin because it removed all my make-up and left my skin feeling clean yet moisturised without any tightness.  I have noticed that my skin is now retaining moisture better and has a nice glow!

Philosophy are planning to offer more Trial and Review Crew experiences, so like their Facebook page so you can be informed when applications open.  It was a wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend it to everyone who is keen to try some high quality skincare.

Have you tried any of these products?  What did you think?

Till next time,

Claire xx

Ms This n That Blog

P.S. These products were provided to me to review as a member of the Philosophy Trial and Review Crew.  All opinions are my own.

F: http://www.facebook.com/msthisnthatblog

I: http://instagram.com/claire.defreitas

T: http://twitter.com/ms_clairey_d

Leave a Reply

