The Hair Necessities

Sing it with me now, Those hair necessities/those simple hair necessities/forget about your worry and your strife! Unfortunately, treating and taming one’s tresses is very rarely simple and the preparation required to walk out the door with a presentable mane can be very stressful! Just as everyone’s hair is different, every hair product, of the thousands on the market, is different and sometimes they just don’t do what they claim on the label! Not to mention that hair is extremely tempremental, and what might work for your hair one day, might just not get the job done a week later. Like a good Girl Scout, my extensive hair care collection ensures that I am always prepared. No matter what drama my temperamental, more-hormonal-than-a-teenager hair throws at me, I am armed with the perfect product. Today I am going to share with you my simple hair necessities (sorry if the song is stuck in your head again.)

  • A brush that means business

Purchasing the most basic Haircare tool in any gal’s kit, can be a tricky task because there are just so many options out there! I think everyone has their personal preference when it comes to size of brush, shape of brush, number and type of bristles etc, but, as a general rule, I believe that brushing your hair shouldn’t hurt and if it’s constantly getting stuck in your hair and you’re loosing more hair in your brush than what is normal got for you, it’s probably time for an upgrade. It also doesn’t hurt if your hair brush is a convincing microphone for bathroom performances of Katy Perry songs.  I love my Cricket Ultra Smooth Detangling Brush (from $12.95 AUD), the plastic is infused with argan and olive oil as well as keratin proteins for detangling and softening. I’ve noticed that using this, brushing is much less painful and less hair is gets pulled out in the process! This brush works fabulously on dry or wet hair.

  • Shampoo and conditioner that treats your hair woes

With a shampoo and conditioner for every ailment in existence, there is no excuse to use the wrong shampoo for you. Shop around and find a shampoo and conditioner that is going to get your hair into the best possible shape. I recommend investing in salon quality products with as little chemical nasties as possible, because you deserve it! A quality shampoo and/or conditioner should last you a few months so it’s worth the larger price tag. Ask your hair dresser or a sales assistant at a Haircare store for advice if the large range overwhelms you. Hair is clever and gets used to products very quickly, which is why it’s a good idea to alternate types of shampoo and conditioner to keep it on its toes.  Some of my favourites are: Chi Organics Olive Nutrient Therapy Shampoo & Conditioner ($29.95 AUD each), John Frieda Brilliant Brunette Multi-tone Revealing Shampoo & Conditioner* ($15.99 AUD each) and, for extra care,  Tony & Guy Prep Leave-In Conditioner ($15.99 AUD)

image

  • Dry Shampoo t0 keep your hair fresh and a deep clean shampoo for later 

I certainly don’t have time to wash my hair every day and if you’re the same, don’t feel guilty, it’s better for your hair to get a little dirty (reow!) and allow your natural oils to do their thing.  Not to mention that non-super-clean hair is much easier to style and will hold its shape for longer.  If you need a little freshening-up between washes, dry shampoo will be your BFF.  Try L’orèal Professional Paris Fresh Dust Dry Shampoo (around $20.00 AUD)* or bargain buy Target Girlz Only Dry Shampoo ($2.00 AUD.)  Only catch to frequent use of Dry Shampoo is the protect build-up on your scalp an locks, so it’s best to use a clarifying shampoo like CHI Clean Start Clarifying Shampoo (around $35.00 AUD) weekly or fortnightly for a fresh start.

photo-2

 

  • Products to banish frizz and add some shine

Every gal needs to be prepared for a frizz freakout or lacklustre hair day, so it’s a good idea to have a frizz reducing and shine product on standby. One of my current favourite frizz busters is John Frieda Frizz-Ease Hair Serum ($7.00 AUD)* which I use daily on dry hair before styling.  I knew Frizz-Ease was good, but I didn’t realise it was GREAT until I forgot to use it one day a few weeks ago because I slept-in (oops) and, by my morning break, my hair was a total frizz-fest!  I won’t be making that mistake again! Kèrastase Paris Olèo-Relax Fluide (about $40.00 AUD) is also a fabulous frizz reducer and a bottle last me nearly six months.  Whenever my hair starts to look a bit dull, I reach for John Frieda Liquid Shine Perfecting Glosser ($16.99 AUD)* which contains light-reflecting particles that you can actually see in the product (unlike some products that claim to add shine but look pretty clear) and is fabulous on dry hair for extra glow.  I also love La Biosthetique Shine on Crazy ($28.50 AUD) which adds lots of shine with a quick spritz and it smells like sherbet and who doesn’t love yummy smelling hair?

image_2 image_1

  • Styling Tools for any look

Don’t be afraid to have fun with your hair and create different looks!  My hair is naturally wavy so sometimes I keep things simple by scrunching through Tony & Guy Prep Volume Plumping Mousse ($15.99 AUD) and sometimes I create a sleek look with my GHD IV Hair Straightener ($239.00 AUD.)  When I want a glamorous look I use my beloved Muk Curl stick ($99.00 AUD.)  I rarely blow-dry my hair, but when I do, I use my GHD Air Hair Dryer ($199.00 AU.)  Whenever I heat style my hair I use GHD Style Heat Protect Spray ($24.00 AUD.)  I lock in my style and banish any extra static frizz with a great hairspray like Goldwell Super Firm Hair Lacquer ($11.96 AUD) or Schwarzkoph Extra Care Strong Styling Hairspray ($8.99.)   I hope this post gave you some ideas of great hair products to try!  Have I left out any of your favourites? *All products marked with an asterisks (*) were provided in accordance with my PR & Disclosure policy, this has not influenced my opinion in any way, I fell in love with them and they are now hair necessities for me!

‘Till next time,
Claire
Ms This n That xx

Leave a Reply

