Best Buys of 2013

Hi everyone,

So I know it’s already February, and I’m not usually one for living in the past, but I just want to take a moment to recognise the amazing products that I tried in 2013, that I now just couldn’t imagine life without!

2013 was my first year as a beauty blogger, and writing and well as reading beauty posts really motivated me to step outside my comfort zone and try some new products rather than always sticking to my old-faithfuls. I was also lucky to be sent some beautiful products to review, and some of them were so great that I’m now hooked on them and they’ve definitely made this list!

In no particular order, here they are:

-Napoleon Advanced Mineral Make-up Broad Spectrum SPH 15 Liquid Foundation $59AUD

This foundation is basically everything I’ve been searching for in a make-up base and is definitely a holy grail product for me! It’s a mineral liquid foundation that gives incredible matte full coverage without being too heavy and it lasts and all day. A little bit goes a long way and it’s worth every cent!

-Philosophy Hope In A Jar Night Cream* $55AUD

Now that I’m 25, I’ve decided it’s time to get serious about skincare and invest in ‘grown-up’ products like eye cream and night cream. After all, prevention is always better than a cure. I was fortunate to be sent a sample size tube of ‘Hope in a Jar Night’ late last year and I instantly fell in love! I got a week and half of nightly uses out of 7ml! Amazing value for money! My skin felt instantly smoother and in the morning it was like my face had been completely resurfaced! When I washed my face the water seemed to glide off it! My mind was blown and I ordered a full size jar from Mecca Cosmetica straight away.
I’ve noticed a few reviews out there that mention that this product has a ‘funny smell’ and caused a few allergic reactions. Firstly, the product does have a zesty, citrusy scent that I find quite refreshing, but I understand that it might not be for everyone, but I couldn’t care less about the scent considering the amazing results I’m getting from it. My skin is also quite sensitive, dries out easily and is prone to redness and I haven’t had any reactions from it what so ever. Everyone’s skin is different though so if you’re concerned perhaps head in store and see if there’s a tester or samples.

NP Set Concealer Palette $28AUD

I love, love, LOVE NP Set (Napoleon Perdis’ budget line which is available at Target and selected other stores) and I wish that more high-end brands would also create similar collections to make their products more accessible to all people! I discovered this beautiful palette in winter when I was dealing with a lot of redness and the blue toned concealer caught my eye. I now us at least one of the five shades in the palette everyday! Great on-top or under foundation and perfect for disguising blemishes or redness; brightening tired eyes; minimising pores and contouring. In my opinion this palette is a definite must-have for every gal’s make-up kit.

Mary Kay Translucent Loose Powder* $16AUD

Before trying Mary Kay Translucent Loose Powder, I was not a fan of so-called ‘translucent’ powders because they always seemed to be far too white and make me appear ghostly, but this powder changes everything! So sheer and super effective, Mary Kay Translucent Loose Powder sets powder and liquid products beautifully and makes my make-up last all day! I use this powder every day and as it’s running out, I’m going to have to place a Mary Kay order very soon because I’m hooked!

Muk Curl Stick $99.95AUD

A friend of mine introduced me to this wonderful contraption when I needed to achieve an 80s style perm for a musical I was in. Being pretty hopeless at curling my own hair, I was skeptical, but was pleasantly surprised and very happy with the results so I ended-up borrowing her’s for the entire season and investing in my own when the show was over. The Muk Curl Stick comes with three interchangeable titanium barrels: a small one for tight ringlets (which I used to create my 80s inspired ‘do); a medium one for bigger curls and a large one for celebrity inspired barrel curls (my personal favourite!). Once upon a time I would spend $120 to get my hair curled for a special occasion. Now, I can get the look at home whenever I want. And the best part? I have long, thick hair and I can curl my hair in about 20 minutes in just three sections. Yep, I think I’ve found my styling tool soulmate and we’re going to have a wonderful life together.

Daiso Detergent for Puff and Sponge (and brush cleaner) $2.80AUD

In a lot of ways, 2013 was the year of the make-up brush for me. I let go of my slacker ways of slapping make-up on with my finger tips and invested in a few good brushes. I quickly realised though, that they can be tricky to keep clean. After reading many rave reviews of the Daiso brush cleaner on face book I decided to ‘invest’ my $2.80 in a bottle. Every positive comment you’ve read about this product is true – it’s just magic! Treat yourself to a bottle today and watch it tell your brushes who’s boss. Just combine a small squeeze of Daiso Detergent for Puff and Sponge with water in the palm of your hand and your brushes will be looking brand new in no time.

Benefit Brow Zings Brow Kit $55AUD

Brows are big these days (literally) and nobody knows brows like benefit. This kit has everything you need to make your brows look spectacular: pigmented wax for shaping, natural-shaded powder for setting, tweezers and two brushes. So much to love about this product: a little bit goes a long way, it doesn’t run or smudge (I’ve heard that some gals even swim wearing it) and it hides any bald patches from over-excited plucking or a dodgy wax job. Do your brows a favour and get on it!

Endota Spa Rosehip & Myrhh Face Mask $40AUD

I first raved about this mask in my post The Importance of Being Pampered after trying this treatment during a facial. I have thirsty, dry skin and this treatment leaves my skin feeling hydrated, smooth and plump.
The best face mask I have tried so far.

The Body Shop Peppermint Foot Lotion $22.95AUD

It’s easy to neglect our tootsies, especially in the winter months, so no wonder they get dry, scaly and sore (shudder.) This delicious smelling lotion leaves even the most tired feet looking and feeling great. The peppermint has a cooling effect which provides instant relief for sore feet. Just lather-up your feet, elevate, put on your favourite trashy TV show and relaxation is bound to occur.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post and I would love to hear what your favourite products of 2013 were? What are you hoping to try this year?

By the way, all of these products have been affectionately added to my Must-Have Shopping List

Till next time,
Claire
Ms This n That xx

*All products marked with as asterisks (*) were provided for my consideration but this has not affected my opinion in any way, in accordance with my PR & Disclosure Policy

Leave a Reply

