The ‘Accidental’ Beauty Haul

It is a blessing and a curse that one of the schools I teach at is approximately a ten minute drive from Westfield Southland. It’s a blessing because it means that a quick coffee, lunch or grocery shop is always near-by. It’s a curse because it makes shopping oh so convenient!

On my way to work one day last week, I went to David Jones Southland. It happened to be payday (my first mistake, I know.) I only had two products in mind: a Glasshouse candle in Tahaa and a luxurious new body scrub to help rid my skin of winter dryness.

I very quickly found the candle I was looking for, although there were only a couple of them left on the shelf! It seems I’m not the only one who loves the delicious caramel and vanilla aromas of Tahaa. Fans of Peter Alexander may recognise it as most stores’ signature scent. I couldn’t wait to get it home and make my house smell like an incredible cake! I love scented candles and I almost always have them lit in the evenings. For me, they create a relaxing atmosphere and beautiful ambience. Candlelit dinners don’t have to be reserved for fancy restaurants, treat yourself to a little luxury everyday at home!

20130812-113429.jpg

After perusing the many beauty isles, I chose Mor Cosmetic’s Marshmallow Sugar Crystal Body Scrub. I just fell in love with its gorgeous, sweet aroma with hints of marshmallow, musk and fruity notes. Plus the crystals didn’t feel too rough on my hands. The large tub looked like good value for money, not to mention it was super cute and I knew it would look great next to my bath tub! It was my lucky day because David Jones had an offer that if you spent more than $29.95 on Mor products you received a gorgeous gift set of three Mor soaps for FREE! The bonus offer definitely sealed the deal for me because who doesn’t need free Mor products in their life?

20130812-114955.jpg

I’d been watching lots of make-up vlogs on YouTube about contouring lately, and I was really keen to try it, but I need a small angled brush for blending. I decided while I was there, I’d check out the David Jones brand selection of brushes and found exactly what I was looking for so I decided to grab it as well.

At the checkout, I couldn’t resist also buying a Deluxe Sampler Tote for just $19.95 (valued at over $105) which came with all these great miniature products! (See photos below.)

20130813-165708.jpg

I then wandered downstairs to Target to purchase an NP Set Concealer set that I’d been eyeing-off a few days earlier because it looked like a great palette to play with for trying out contouring techniques. Now that I had the brush, I just had to get the palette…right? (OK, so maybe this haul was starting to get a little less accidental!) I love this concealer set because the concealers seem to be oil based, which means they will be easy to blend when creating contouring looks. Not to mention that oil based products are generally more effective on my dry skin. I also love that the palette includes a blue-based concealer for disguising redness, which I am unfortunately very prone to in winter. I really commend Napolean Perdis for creating ‘NP Set’ and making high quality make-up more accessible and affordable for people on a budget. I will be sure to post photos of the looks I create with this great palette.

20130813-165758.jpg

So it total I spent $137.80. Yep, it was definitely a haul for me, but I think I got great value for money and plenty of bonus products and freebies!

Have you gone on an ‘accidental’ haul lately? What bargains did you pick-up? Please share below!

Till next time,

Ms This n That xx

P.S: still sharing the love with all beauty bloggers, follow my blog and I’ll follow your’s back 🙂

2 thoughts on “The ‘Accidental’ Beauty Haul

  1. Love how you called it “accidental” hahaha…umm yes I have had an “accidental” purchase. Went in to Myer the other day with the intent to buy more sports bras…ended up getting them AND a pair of boots! In my defense, they were further discounted from their sale price so how can I say no right ;). I think I’m going to check out the sample pack at DJs that you bought. I’m in Southland almost everyday anyway, so might as well huh.

    • Those red ticket sales at myer get me everytime too! 😉

      There are two different options for the sample bags, I will probably get the next one next time I go shopping at DJs. Very happy with the products I’ve tried so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

