Introducing Ms This n That

So folks…I’m hopping on the blogging band wagon! Why now? Well, two weeks ago I turned 25, the age of ‘quarter life crises’ and ‘discovering one’s self.’ In my pre-birthday anxiety, I pondered on my life so far and I discovered that I haven’t quite found the focus that I expected to have by this point in my life. In better (and blunter) words, I’m a bit all over the place!

When I didn’t stroll straight from graduation onto a broadway stage, like I had naively hoped, I worked in a variety of different (and often painfully boring) jobs, before becoming a singing teacher two years ago. I love my job because it allows me to pursue my creative interests, while getting paid at the same time (which is tragically rare.) When I’m not running my business or riding the emotional roller coaster known as audition processes, I have lots of interests that keep me more than busy.

Firstly, I love to shop. I know it’s not the most original hobby in the world, but bargain-hunting is a sport to me. Like generations of women in my family before me, I’m a big believer in ‘getting the look for less’…much less. I’m not too ashamed to rustle through a clearance rack in an expensive store or check-up on the same pair of shoes once a week until they are reduced to $10 (hey, if my size is still there by that point I’m really meant to have them!) I’ve lost count of how many times a friend has complimented my outfit and then been shocked when I tell them the story of how I managed to get every single item on sale. When it comes to beauty products, I’m passionate about finding products that actually work! I hate throwing something away just because it doesn’t do what it said it would on the label. I get enormous satisfaction from finding a face mask that actually clears your pores or a lipstick that’s actually kiss proof. Unsurprisingly, more often than not, the products that work are not always the most expensive. I’m also a fan of products that use organic, natural ingredients. The less nasties on my skin, the better!

Speaking of natural goodness, I love to cook. I’m half-Italian, so I love good food, but as I’m
in the very looks-orientated business of performing arts, I need to maintain my body shape. I discovered clean eating last year, and ever since I’ve been passionate about creating healthier versions of my favourite meals. Wherever possible, I buy organic, natural ingredients. I live a busy life and I want to fuel my body the best I can. Eating clean gives me more energy and makes me feel better about myself.

I’m also shamelessly celeb-obsessed. I think I would have made a wonderful entertainment reporter (and in vain, I hope I one day still might be.) I adore the Kardashians (shall I just duck while you though tomatoes at me?) and pretty much any reality show with great characters to like/dislike that live an extravagant life I can only dream of. I love to visit their crazy worlds from the comfort of my couch!

I promise my rambling has almost reached its point! šŸ™‚

Finally, I love to write. I can remember being a little girl and hassling my Mum to buy me a new exercise book so I could write a story #nerdalert! In year 8, I practically skipped out of my parent/student/teacher interviews because my English teacher said that I’d “write the novels that would be turned into films one day.” After graduating secondary school, I’ve been so focused on perusing the performing arts that writing has fallen to the side. Other than writing the occasional script, I’ve really let it go.

I see blogging as a way of rediscovering my love of writing and sharing my quirky view of the world. So here it is! I’ll write as often as I can, sharing the crazy mix of interesting news that makes up my life. Whether it’s revealing my latest bargains; a beauty product review; my latest healthy recipe; or my view on recent celebrity events – I’ll be sharing it here! Blogging is going to be my way of celebrating my MANY passions. After all, life isn’t a university course. Why should I choose one major, when I can do a bit of everything?

I hope that the hints I’ll share will be helpful to you, and I’d love to hear some of your’s!

All the best,

Ms This n That xo

One thought on “Introducing Ms This n That

  1. Pingback: Book Chat: January – February 2015 | Ms This N That Blog

Leave a Reply

